Skip to content home : browse : advanced search : preferences : my favorites : about : help  login  

add to favorites : reference url back to results : previous : next
Zoom in Zoom out Pan left Pan right Pan up Pan down Maximum resolution Fit in window Fit to width Rotate left Rotate right Hide/show thumbnail
North Dakota Democratic Party candidates campaigning in Portland, N.D.
North Dakota Democratic Party candidates campaigning in Portland, N.D.
TitleNorth Dakota Democratic Party candidates campaigning in Portland, N.D.
Date of Original1956-10-15
CreatorOlson, Cal, 1924-2009
Creator RolePhotographer
DescriptionTen North Dakota Democratic political candidates standing on Portland, N.D. street. Left to right is, J. Arthur Engen, Guy Timboe, Wallace Warner, E. G. Ranum, S. B. Hocking, Weldon Haugen, Agnes Geelan, Albert Heide, Oscar Solberg, and A. C. Bakken. Businesses visible behind the group are the Strand's Coffee Shop and Haugom Our Own Hardware.
Ordering InformationConsult:
General SubjectPolitics & Government
Subject (LCTGM)Political campaigns
Political elections
Commercial streets
Hardware stores
Personal NameGeelan, Agnes
Solberg, Oscar, 1911-
Bakken, A. C. (Albert Curtis), 1920-2009
Engen, John Arthur, 1897-1963
Timboe, Guy P., 1905-1969
Warner, Wallace E., 1916-1994
Hocking, S. B. (Sydney Burdett), 1902-1991
Haugen, Weldon, 1908-2002
Heide, Albert T., 1906-1994
Ranum, E. G. (Emil Gerhard), 1890-1973
Organization NameDemocratic Party (N.D.)
LocationPortland (N.D.)
Traill County (N.D.)
North Dakota
United States
Item Number2098.s2329
Negative Number2098.s2329
Format of OriginalAcetate negatives
Safety film negatives
Dimensions of Original35 mm
Publisher of OriginalForum Publishing Company (Fargo, N.D.)
Place of PublicationFargo (N.D.)
Transcription"Democratic candidates in the campaign caravan included, left to right, J. Arthur Engen, no-party incumbent candidate endorsed by the Democrats for tax commissioner; Guy Timboe, candidate for secretary of state; Wallace Warner, candidate for governor; E. C. Ranum, for insurance commissioner; S. B. Hocking for U.S. representative; Weldon Haugen, for state auditor; Mrs. Agnes Geelan, for U.S. representative; Albert Heide, for state treasurer; Oscar Solberg, for lieutenant governor, and A. C. Bakken, for attorney general." - caption with image published in The Fargo Forum, October 21, 1956, p. C-8.
NotesTitle supplied by staff.
Repository InstitutionNorth Dakota State University Libraries, Institute for Regional Studies
Repository CollectionCal Olson Photograph Collection 2098
Collection Finding AidConsult:
Credit LineInstitute for Regional Studies, NDSU, Fargo (2098.s2329)
Rights ManagementCopyright held by Institute for Regional Studies.
Digital IDco000582
Original SourceNegative
add to favorites : reference url back to results : previous : next
powered by CONTENTdm ® | contact us  ^ to top ^