Skip to content home : browse : advanced search : preferences : my favorites : about : help  login  

add to favorites : reference url back to results : previous : next
Zoom in Zoom out Pan left Pan right Pan up Pan down Maximum resolution Fit in window Fit to width Rotate left Rotate right Hide/show thumbnail
Gov. Frazier signing woman suffrage bill
Gov. Frazier signing woman suffrage bill
TitleGov. Frazier signing woman suffrage bill
Date of Original1917-1-23
CreatorButler Studio (Bismarck, N.D.)
Creator RolePhotographer
DescriptionNorth Dakota governor Lynn Frazier is seated at a table surrounded by many women and several men as he signs the women's suffrage bill passed by the North Dakota Legislature. On the surrounding walls are framed portraits of men.
Ordering InformationConsult:
General SubjectPolitics & Government
Subject (LCTGM)Women's suffrage
Document signings
Personal NameFrazier, Lynn J. (Lynn Joseph), 1874-1947
Anderson, Elizabeth Preston, 1861-1954
LocationBismarck (N.D.)
Burleigh County (N.D.)
North Dakota
United States
Item Number1942.2.3
Negative Number120mm-0043.3 copy neg.; PN-103
Format of OriginalGelatin silver prints
Dimensions of Original15 x 24 cm.
Publisher of OriginalButler Studio (Bismarck, N.D.)
Place of PublicationBismarck (N.D.)
Transcription"Partial identification made by Mrs. O.A. Stevens & Mrs. R.E. (Mary Darrow) Weible, 1/22/64. Beginning at viewer's left: Unknown, Rev. W.J. Hutcheson, Aldyth Ward, Mrs. Elizabeth Darrow-O'Neill, Mrs. V.J. LaRose, Mary Darrow Weible, unknown man, Mrs. Grace Clendenning, Mr. Stair (Legislature), Mrs. Elizabeth Preston Anderson, Mrs. Barbara Wiley; 3 women directly back of governor unknown, Honorable Lynn G. Fraser [sic], Governor of N. Dak., Mrs. Charles S. Shippey (Hope, N. Dak.), Mrs. Lynn J. Fraser [sic], one Fraser twin; 4 women around Fraser [sic] twin unknown; Dr. Fanny Dunn Quain, Mrs. Anna Wanner (Jamestown), the second Fraser [sic] twin (Uni and Versity), unknown"--Typed list with print.
"Governor Frazier is seated at the table signing the bill. To his right standing next to the table are Mrs. Elizabeth Preston Anderson, president of the state W.C.T.U., Mrs. Grace Clendenning of Fargo, president of the state Votes for Women League, Mrs. Mary Darrow Weible, of Fargo, vice-president of the state Votes for Women League and Mrs. Elizabeth Darrow O'Neil, of Fargo, president of the state Congressional Union. Standing to the left of Governor Frazier next to the table are Mrs. Lynn Frazier, wife of the governor, Miss Bonita Townley and Mrs. A.C. Townley, wife and daughter of the president of the Nonpartisan League, and Mrs. J.E. Stevens, field agent of the Anti-Tuberculosis society"--Nonpartisan Leader, Feb. 1, 1917, p. 8.
NotesTitle handwritten on front of image.
Repository InstitutionNorth Dakota State University Libraries, Institute for Regional Studies
Repository CollectionNorth Dakota Masonic Grand Lodge Photograph Collection 1942
Credit LineInstitute for Regional Studies, NDSU, Fargo (1942.2.3)
Digital IDrs001806
Original SourcePhotographic print
add to favorites : reference url back to results : previous : next
powered by CONTENTdm ® | contact us  ^ to top ^