Skip to content home : browse : advanced search : preferences : my favorites : about : help  login  

add to favorites : reference url back to results : previous : next
Zoom in Zoom out Pan left Pan right Pan up Pan down Maximum resolution Fit in window Fit to width Rotate left Rotate right Hide/show thumbnail
House Minority, 15th Legislative Assembly of North Dakota
House Minority, 15th Legislative Assembly of North Dakota
TitleHouse Minority, 15th Legislative Assembly of North Dakota
Date of Original1917
CreatorHolmboe, Frithjof
Creator RolePhotographer
DescriptionPhotomontage showing 31 individual portraits of the Republican House Minority members of the 15th Legislative Assembly of North Dakota.
Ordering InformationConsult:
General SubjectPolitics & Government
Subject (LCTGM)Legislative bodies
Personal NameHendrickson, Staale, 1875-1956
Wright, Dana, 1878-1964
Divet, Arthur Guy, 1871-1950
O'Connor, J. F. T. (James Francis Thadeus), 1884-1949
Organization NameNorth Dakota. Legislative Assembly. House of Representatives
Republican Party (N.D.)
LocationBismarck (N.D.)
Burleigh County (N.D.)
North Dakota
United States
Item NumberFolio 43.2.4
Format of OriginalGelatin silver prints
Dimensions of Original27 x 33 cm.
Publisher of OriginalHolmboe Studio (Bismarck, N.D.)
Place of PublicationBismarck (N.D.)
Transcription"House Minority, 15th Legislative Assembly of North Dakota. 1917. We stood together in opposition to House Bill 44 firm in the conviction that we were right. Unfaltering in that faith we now submit the question to the wisdom of time and the intelligence of the people of the State." Printed on front of photograph above montage of portraits.
Members names printed under each portrait, top to bottom and left to right. Row one: August Isaak, MERCER; Jas. Rice MCLEAN; L.D. Wiley, MORTON; Stewart Wilson, CASS; Dana Wright, STUTSMAN. Row two: R. A. Lathrop, STEELE; Nils Petterson, SARGENT; Charles F. Schick, GRANT; P. H. Kelly, RAMSEY. Row three: Christ Geiszler, LOGAN; B. G. Tenneson, CASS; H. J. Stinger, ADAMS. Row four: H. J. Blanchard, STARK; Henry Moen, ADAMS. Row five, six and seven: J.F.T.O'connor, GRAND FORKS; A. G. Divet, RICHLAND; Staale Hendrickson, BURKE. Row eight: H. A. Mackoff, STARK; Burl Carr, BARNES. Row nine: P. G. Hanson, GRAND FORKS; C. C. Turner, STARK; M. G. Myhre, RICHLAND. Row ten: Paul Meyer, RICHLAND; M. S. Lang, MORTON; C. N. Ebel, RICHLAND; Sidney F. Smith, KIDDER. Row eleven: C. E. Knox, DICKEY; J. M Carignan, SIOUX; S. O. Allen, STUTSMAN; E. W. Everson, GRIGGS; John Rott, Jr., MCINTOSH. Autographs of each member printed below montage of portraits.
NotesTitle taken from front of print.
Biography/HistoryPhotograph shows the Republican members of the North Dakota House of Representatives who voted against House Bill 44; a bill introduced by the Non-Partisan League, to draw up a new state constitution. The bill was passed in the house on January 26, 1917, but defeated in the Senate on January 30th.
Repository InstitutionNorth Dakota State University Libraries, Institute for Regional Studies
Repository CollectionNorth Dakota Legislature Photograph Collection Folio 43
Credit LineInstitute for Regional Studies, NDSU, Fargo (Folio 43.2.4)
Digital IDrs006536
Original SourcePhotograph
add to favorites : reference url back to results : previous : next
powered by CONTENTdm ® | contact us  ^ to top ^