Skip to content home : browse : advanced search : preferences : my favorites : about : help  login  
add to favorites : reference url back to results : previous : next
Zoom in Zoom out Pan left Pan right Pan up Pan down Maximum resolution Fit in window Fit to width Rotate left Rotate right Hide/show thumbnail
Nominees for President of Constitutional Convention addressing assembly, Bismarck, N.D.
Nominees for President of Constitutional Convention addressing assembly, Bismarck, N.D.
TitleNominees for President of Constitutional Convention addressing assembly, Bismarck, N.D.
Date of Original1971-04-06
DescriptionNominees for the presidency of the North Dakota Constitutional Convention gather to speak to the assembly. Left to right, seated: Stan Saugstad (Minot), Roland Meidinger (Jamestown), Governor William L. Guy, William Pearce (Bismarck), Frank A. Wenstrom at rostrum. Clara Wendt (Bismarck, page appointed for the planning session), desk directly in front of the rostrum, left to right: Barbara King (Secretary), Art McKinney, Roy Gilbreath (Chief Clerk), the head just showing left of the clerks rostrum, Judge Ralph Erickstad, Supreme Court Justice.
Ordering Information
General SubjectPolitics & Government
Subject (LCTGM)Constitutional conventions
Public speaking
Personal NameSaugstad, Stan
Meidinger, Roland
Guy, William L. (William Lewis), 1919-
Pearce, William
Wenstrom, Frank A., 1903-1997
Wendt, Clara
King, Barbara
McKinney, Art
Gilbreath, Roy
Erickstad, Ralph J.
Organization NameNorth Dakota. Constitutional Convention (1971-1972)
North Dakota. Governor (1961-1973 : Guy)
North Dakota. Supreme Court
LocationBismarck (N.D.)
AddressBismarck (N.D.) - Boulevard Avenue E.
Item Number10474-87
Format of OriginalPhotographic prints
NotesPhotographer unknown.
Title created by staff.
Biography/HistoryWilliam L. Guy was born in Devils Lake, N.D. in 1919. He attended public school in Amenia, N.D., and went on to receive a Bachelor of Science degree in Agricultural Economics from North Dakota Agricultural College, and then a Masters of Science Degree in Agricultural Economics and Business Economics from the University of Minnesota. After serving in the Navy during World War II, Guy worked in a variety of occupations until 1960, most in the agricultural field. A member of the Nonpartisan League since 1954, occupying a number of committee positions, he received the Democratic-Nonpartisan League nomination for Governor in 1960, and served as North Dakota's 26th governor for 12 years. As the state's chief executive, he was involved in many prominent projects in North Dakota's history, including the Garrison Diversion Project, the creation of the Tourism Promotion Division and the Theodore Roosevelt Roughrider Hall of Fame, and the North Dakota Heritage Commission, which paved the way for the construction of the North Dakota Heritage Center. Guy was also the chairman of the National Governor's Conference in 1968. After leaving office, he served as the executive director of the North Dakota Community Foundation, worked as a consultant for Basin Electric Power Cooperative, and was appointed by Governor Arthur A. Link as chairman of the Public Employees Retirement Commission. Guy was later appointed to a six year term on the State Water Commission by Governor George Sinner.
Repository InstitutionState Historical Society of North Dakota
Repository CollectionFrank A. Wenstrom Papers Mss 10474
Collection Finding AidConsult
Credit LineState Historical Society of North Dakota (10474-87)
Rights ManagementCopyright transferred to the State Historical Society of North Dakota.
Digital IDsh1047487
add to favorites : reference url back to results : previous : next
powered by CONTENTdm ® | contact us  ^ to top ^